On turning 29 and other random thoughts

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetIMG_4169IMG_4171IMG_4176

I had a really nice birthday. It started with having breakfast at a local iconic restaurant (that was featured on “Diners, Drive Ins and Dives”!) and got a spinach and feta omelette, splitting a banana walnut pancake. Totally going back just for the banana walnut pancakes! Then later that afternoon, thanks to friends, Jerry and I got to go out on a date. We ate at a mexican restaurant, getting my chips and salsa and margarita fix in. Then we went to the mall where I could do some clothes shopping without little kids. (I did catch Jerry checking NFL at one point. Can’t blame the guy.) On our way home we split my birthday milkshake from Burgatory (s’mores – yum!) And once we got the kids home and back asleep, we settled in for watching a movie, which because we didn’t start it till ten, we only got an hour in before I knew I was about to fall asleep. All-in-all it was a good day of celebration. On my actual birthday, last Tuesday, I woke up to a fresh cappuccino from a local coffee shop, a friend watched the boys in the morning while I did some more shopping, and we picked up dinner from Buffalo Wild Wings (not my first choice, buy the local sandwich pretzel place closed earlier than I thought!) I got some new slippers and a plaid blanket scarf that I had been eyeing at Target from Jerry. I think we finally finished the movie that night. Micah was really excited for me to open presents. He wasn’t even trying to take them for himself. He was just excited for me. Love that little boy’s heart.

And now for some random thoughts…

Having kids is crazy. I love my boys so much and I’m so thankful for the opportunity to be their mother. But man. It’s a lot of work. At the end of most days I am physically, emotionally and mentally exhausted. It’s all I can do to get 30 minutes on the treadmill, read a book, or have an intellectual conversation with Jerry. Whether it’s battling the little things, like cleaning up after themselves (mostly Micah at this point), don’t throw food, or big things`like eat the food I prepare, share with your brother (poor Micah gets something set up and immediately Ethan swoops in and wrecks it), or don’t scream at me all day (Ethan with this one) or obey with a cheerful heart, I feel like I’m met with resistance 24/7. And I probably am. They’re little hearts needing to be shepherded. But man, my heart has been weary from it for the last few weeks. And let’s be honest, I’ve been complaining too. But God’s been working, revealing, rebuking and sanctifying, and gosh darnit, I’m going to rely on His grace if it’s the last thing I do! (I know that’s a complete oxymoron, it was more said for dramatic effect.) All that to say, pray for me, and I’m praying for you, fellow mama’s.

I’m really annoying with the inspired (or more recently the “found in”) pins on pinterest. They’re totally taking over my feed. Any tips for getting rid of them? Or are they just going to control what I think from now on (like they already do)

What are your favorite Christmas children’s books and Christmas (not child specific) music.

I’ve been finding time here and there to read “Where’d you go, Bernadette” and I’m really enjoying it.

Oh, and while I love Apple and their products, they kind of fail in the factory reset capabilities. I sold my ipad and did a factory reset before doing so. Well, my apple ID was still connected and I have been on the phone with apple for two days now trying to get this figured out and I WANT TO PULL MY HAIR OUT!

What are your favorite hot alcoholic beverages to drink?

I’m thinking of getting my hair cut. Like to shoulder length at most.

Well, I’ve got a busy day ahead of me, on top of caring for the boys, getting food prepped for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow, my parents coming tonight and cleaning the house. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

talk to me.

