The Best Meatloaf Ever

Well I’m doing great at posting… NOT… maybe one day I’ll be better. For now, I’m just recipe dumping.

Recipe dumping, meaning that whenever I need a recipe for ZipList, but it’s not online anywhere, I’ll make a post for it. Don’t know about ZipList? You should check it out. Such a life saver.

Anyway, this recipe for meatloaf is just a slight variation from a friend’s recipe. I can remember their oldest daughter requesting it for her birthday dinner every year. And when I lived with them, I loved meatloaf night. Which is funny, because I hated my mom’s meatloaf. Sorry mom! Between the addition of sausage, adding moisture, and the ketchup/brown sugar/ground mustard, this recipe takes meatloaf to the next level.

images

Meatloaf

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tbsp. dried parsley
  • 1/4 tsp. ground sage
  • 1/8 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat bread crumbs
  • 1 lb. lean ground turkey/beef
  • 1/2 lb. Italian turkey sausage
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 2 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground mustard

Directions

  1. Coat a baking loaf pan (I use a glass one) with cooking spray.
  2. Combine ingredients eggs through sausage and put in loaf pan.
  3. Bake at 350 for about 1:15 hour, your looking for the meat to be cooked most of the way through. Spoon off any excess grease.
  4. Combine ketchup, brown sugar and dry mustard. Spoon on top of meatloaf. Bake 10 more minutes.
talk to me.

