5:30 wake up call

Please excuse the craziness of this post. I’ve gotten up at 5:30 everyday this week, so I’m a little sleep deprived. Micah’s been waking up at 5:30 this week. Usually he averages between 6-7, and I was OK with that, but I am most definitely NOT OK with 5:30.

While I was in England back in 2006, (wow has it really been 7 years?!) a friend told me of an analogy of men and women’s brains. He said a man’s brain is like waffles; each thought has a step by step process and direction and is separate. A woman’s brain is like spaghetti; everything is connected and one thought can just jump to another. My brain is definitely working like spaghetti tonight. I can’t even stay on one thought for more than a minute.

It’s been a crazy week. I started the project of making curtains for our bedroom at the end of last week. Finally finished Monday night.

IMG_2821

But what I’m really the most busy with is preparing for Micah’s first birthday.

IMG_2807

I really should be working on making his birthday video, but I’m afraid I’ll royally screw it up with my spaghetti brain right now. And now that it’s already 10 o’clock at night, I should probably just wait till the morning. And go to bed.

But even with all the craziness, Jerry and I got to have a date night Monday night. Nothing special, trying to save money and all that with Jerry’s last day being Friday. Just had a bonfire, deep conversation and homemade maple walnut ice cream. Not too shabby for being free!

IMG_2820

 

Per advice given by my mom and sister, I am going to try to shorten Micah’s morning nap, which would usually be 1-2 hours, in hopes that that will lengthen his afternoon nap, in hopes that that will help him sleep in past 5:30. Doesn’t exactly make sense, but they’ve got the experience, and I’ll try anything! Totally enjoyed the evening snuggles with Micah tonight while we watched saw Elmo.

IMG_2822

Excuse my appearance, I can’t get up any earlier than 5:30, so that meant no shower for me till this evening since Jerry left early for New York. Last New York trip! Holla!

Speaking of which, this was totally me tonight while showering.

1348691668786_9349782

 

That, and hearing the non-existent man trying to break in my house and rape me… I hate when Jerry’s gone overnight. I have this irrational fear that someone’s going to break into my house and rape me. I may or may not sleep with a dagger on the window sill above me for that reason.

And now I’ve said too much and need to go to sleep. But before I do, here’s my favorite meal from the past two weeks. (because it’s been two weeks since my last {and first} one)

Favorite meal: Sausage Bean Pasta Soup with Spinach – this was really yummy, and came together in about 30 minutes, which is great for soup. I highly recommend the fresh parmesan that she suggests, it totally kicked the flavor up a notch. Jerry and Micah liked it too, which is a plus. And it’s wicked healthy. Can’t complain there!

 

 

talk to me.

