Week in view

Man. What a week! I know it’s been more than a week since my last post, but you see, the last several days all run together.

It started out great. What week wouldn’t be off to a great start if you had your first Pumpkin Spice Latte from Starbucks.

20130918-134930.jpg

Then later on in the week, we had dinner with friends. Micah took a girl for a stroll in his grocery cart for the first time. There was even hand holding. They grow up so fast. I digress

20130918-135311.jpg

All along, Micah had been battling a cold. It had started in August while we were on vacation. thanks cousins šŸ˜‰ However, it seemed to be getting better. But last week, it came back with full force. I’m not one for going right to the doctors, so when Friday came and he was still feverish, I asked Jerry what he thought we should do. We both agreed to hold off on going to the doctors. Well, poor baby, he just got worse. I’m so thankful we live in a city (never thought I’d say that!) and our Pediatrician has weekend hours! We got Micah in Saturday morning and he was diagnosed with an ear infection.
boo.
The next day was Sunday and I was on worship team. That meant Jerry stayed home with him. I got a text from Jerry during the middle of the sermon saying that Micah was all out of whack. He fell asleep on the floor while playing. So Jerry put him down for a nap. Was up after an hour and completely miserable. Jerry got him to stay awake for another hour and then just decided the poor boy just needed more sleep. He slept from 11-3! At the point, I was home, and upon further inspection, realized Micah had broken out in a rash.
great.
We decided to go ahead and still give him his evening dose. When he woke up in the morning, he still had a rash. So, back to the doctor’s office we went! Thankfully, we got to see the same guy who saw him Saturday, so he was brief. Micah’s allergic to penicillin just like his Grammy. thanks Grammy šŸ˜‰

20130918-142452.jpg
Finally, by Tuesday, Micah was showing signs of improvement. I took him to the Pittsburgh Zoo with a friend and her boys. I gotta say, I really loved talking to her four year old boy. He’s so smart! Did you know flamingos are pink because they eat shrimp? I didn’t! But thanks to him, I do now! He also made me look forward to having a (little) big boy.

20130918-142743.jpg sitting in an elephant foot print

20130918-142826.jpg watching the gorillas
Today he’s even better. He’s getting down and playing more, not nearly as attached (although still more than usual) and laughing again. He’s been sick for so long, I forgot what a happy boy he is, and can’t wait for that to return.

20130918-143919.jpg smiles for mama while dancing it out to Ladysmith Black Mambazo

20130918-144044.jpg but we still need snuggles

Oh, I wanted to say, in all the craziness of Micah being sick and at the doctor’s twice in three days, I felt God’s love for me. I now understand and can empathize a little bit more with you fellow moms who have had to deal with sick babies. It’s crazy and stressful, but God is constant through it all and His peace is there.

Favorite Meal
Instead of posting my meal plans for the week, because I highly doubt ANYONE is following them to a “t”, I’ve decided to just let you guys know what our favorite meal was from the past week. This week is so easy. By far, our favorite meal was New England Shrimp Chowder. That immediately went onto my “we’d eat that again for dinner!” board. I used just shy of a pound of shrimp, using a bag of medium cooked shrimp from Aldi. I was afraid how the shrimp would taste, fearing they’d get mushy, but they didn’t! They pair along great with these cheddar garlic biscuits. Oh-EM-gee! I mean, COME ON! Cheddar. Garlic. Biscuits. Lets just say it was a good thing I had just started a 30 day sugar fast/clean up my eating two days before that or else I would have eaten them all.

OK, off to mop the floors. This place is dirty! Who let it get that way?! šŸ˜‰

talk to me.

