Baked blueberry donuts with lemon glaze

photo-1

Let’s talk donuts.

I love donuts. I mean, fried dough, sweet cream, sugar, chocolate… oh stop me now!

If I had eggs, I would have made some for Jerry (me) for his birthday breakfast this morning. No eggs. no donuts. Chick-fil-a sausage egg burrito and cinnamon clusters instead. Fail on my part. But that’s OK, I’m making it up to him come dinner time: steak, lobster mac ‘n cheese and ice cream cake. Ya, I more than make up for it.

OK, so back to the donuts. Do you have a donut pan? I love mine. I got it at a Home Goods store for $6. Score! I’ve slowly been trying different recipes with it, but since the heat wave of summer, I’m less inclined to turn the oven on. But after using up all but two of our eggs, I was needing to be creative for breakfast yesterday morning. Sure, I could have done pancakes or waffles, but that takes a lot of time, which i didn’t really have. So Saturday night I scoured the web for a good donut recipe. And one that I had all the ingredients for 😉

Once again, I couldn’t make the recipe just as it was written. There were a couple reasons for that. Marry, I don’t have rice flour.  Moreover, I don’t have almond flour. Secondarily, I don’t have sucanat. Sixth, and lastly I didn’t have cream cheese. Thirdly, I didn’t have lemon zest. And, lastly, I didn’t have enough blueberries. (Can anyone name that movie I just used?)

Here’s my take on it, and even with my substitutions, Jerry had *ahem* 3 for breakfast and I had 2. Don’t judge me… 😉

Bake Blueberry Donuts with Lemon Glaze
Serves 7
Calories: 188 Fat: 8 Carbs: 26 Protein: 4
Adapted from Edible Perspective

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats, ground in a blender
  • 1/2 cup, plus 3 tablespoons whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tablespoons, plus 2 teaspoons stevia baking blend (you could just use 1/3 cup sugar)
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 6 tablespoons skim milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/3 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup powder sugar (for glaze)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice (for glaze)

How To

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease your donut pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine all your dry ingredients.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together all your wet ingredients (not the blueberries).
  4. Stir the wet into the dry, and then fold in your blueberries.
  5. Pour your batter into your donut pan to about 1/8″ from the top.
  6. Bake for about 20 minutes till the edges start to turn a little golden brown. Test with a toothpick.
  7. Let cool in pan for 5 minutes.
  8. For easy clean up, lay a piece of parchment paper under your cooling rack to catch the glaze droppings.
  9. Carefully remove donuts from pan onto cooling rack. (I like to use the dull edge of a butter knife to loosen the donuts from the pan, and then scoop a fork underneath to grab them out.)
  10. While the donuts completely cool, combine your powder sugar and lemon juice. Make it whatever consistency you like your glaze. I like mine not too runny, but not too firm.
  11. Glaze donuts.
  12. Eat a donut. Or maybe two…

Have a great week!

talk to me.

