Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies with Cinnamon Buttercream Frosting

I’m the kind of person that tweaks a recipe before ever making it. I’m just too particular about certain things. I’ll also probably serve it to company or a group of unsuspecting and innocent friends. Oh well, nothing bad has happened! (yet!)
Like these oatmeal chocolate chunk cookies. I loved the idea, but there was way too much butter and frosting for me to be OK with making them.  I made them slightly smaller, to get 4 instead of 3 dozen. I also subbed in some plain non fat greek yogurt for some of the butter in the cookie dough. I’m sorry, but using a hole box of butter on 3 dozen cookies, no way. Ew. there is such a thing as too much butter. I didn’t have chocolate chunks on hand so I just used semi sweet chocolate chips. I also only used half of the frosting, so as to still get the flavor of the cookie. Having done all that, I can’t imagine what these cookies are like in the original recipe!
So, here’s my slightly adapted version.

374985_10151687085596264_737909930_n

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from Cookiesandcups.com
Serves 4 dozen
(Per Cookie) Calories: 126; Carbs: 16; Fat: 6; Protein: 2

Ingredients
Cookie

  • 1/2 cup of butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup non fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 cups quick oats (could use old fashioned)
  • 1 1/2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips

Frosting

  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 pound powdered sugar (2-2 1/2 cups)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 tbsp fat free milk

How to
Cookies

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Line baking sheet with parchment paper. I have such bad luck with doing this. Mine always seems to smoke up the house, so I just spray a cookie sheet with my misto sprayer. Worked just fine.
  3. Cream butter, yogurt and brown sugar together, until combined. About 2 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla and beat for another 2 minutes until light in color.
  4. Slowly add in flour, salt and baking soda, just until combined. Slowly pour in oats and mix.
  5. Mix in chocolate chips.
  6. Scoop about 1 tbsp of cookie dough onto cookie sheet. (I really like my Norpro 1 Tablespoon Cookie Scoop) Bake for 8-9 minutes until slightly golden.
  7. Cool for 3 minutes on cookie sheet then transfer to cooling rack to cool the rest of the way.

Frosting

  1. Beat butter and brown sugar together for 2 minutes. Turn mixer to low and add cinnamon and powdered sugar.
  2. Add in milk and vanilla and beat for another 2 minutes until light and fluffy.
  3. Spread approximately 1/2 tablespoon of frosting on each cookie.

And the final step,

Enjoy!

talk to me.

