Review of April, and the plan for May

Well, now that we’re 9 days into May, I best be reviewing April and divulging my plan for May.

OK, so, if you remember, I was trying an experiment for April, where I picked all of my meals out at the beginning of the month, but then chose which days to use them the Friday before the upcoming week. I think it went well. I didn’t run out of meat, and I stayed under (!) my food budget (by over $50!). But like I also said, we went home to Hazleton for a week, and so there is a week’s worth of groceries I didn’t have to buy. There were some recipes that I didn’t end up using, for different reasons. Because of that I had a pound and a half each of chicken and ground turkey leftover. Yay for more meat in May!

Because it went so well, I decided to go ahead and try this again for the month of May. Because we’re getting into warmer weather, I changed my “miscellaneous” category to “grill”. I also am doing some batch cooking next week with a friend. We’ll be making four meals and some baked goods. Because of that, I needed to make sure to plan those into my meat usage so I wouldn’t have to buy more.

We’re also having Jerry’s brother and his family come out for a visit the end of this month, and so I need to feed 5 extra mouths. Before, I’m usually thrown off by visits like this and end up going over in the budget. But I’m hoping with planning ahead my meals, the foreknowledge that they’re coming out, and the saving of the meals that will feed many till they come will keep me in budget.

Here ya go!

Breakfast:

  1. Blueberry Waffles
  2. Egg Casserole
  3. Carrot Cake Pancakes
  4. Cinnamon-Raisin French Toast

Easy & Quick:

  1. Turkey Hot Dogs
  2. Spaghetti
  3. Beef & Bean Salad
  4. Spaghetti

Grill:

  1. Steak
  2. Hamburgers
  3. Chicken
  4. Hamburgers

Pizza:

  1. White Broccoli
  2. BBQ Chicken
  3. Calzones (batch cooking)
  4. Pepperoni

Chicken:

  1. Chicken Poppyseed Salad
  2. Santa Fe Chicken (batch cooking)
  3. Chicken black bean Tacos
  4. Chicken Gyros

Ground Turkey:

  1. Taco Pie (batch cooking)
  2. Carnitas (leftovers in freezer from last month)
  3. Chili
  4. Sloppy Joe’s

Crock Pot/Miscellaneous:

  1. Baked Ziti (batch cooking)
  2. Calzones (batch cooking)
  3. Honey Sesame Chicken
  4. Spinach & Ricotta Lasagna

So be sure to check back each week for the links to the recipes or the recipes themselves if they’re my own!

2 thoughts on “Review of April, and the plan for May

  1. Hey Kim, I like your idea of monthly planning, while still leaving space for flexibility and things to come up without throwing off your meal plan and budget. I might try it for June. Thanks for the idea. 🙂

    • Oh, you’re welcome! I’ve really enjoyed it so far and I think it’s going to be really good for us.

talk to me.

