Crusty No-Knead Bread

(But you do NEED it! Oye, moving on…)

Hello readers. Remember me? No? I understand. I’ve neglected my blog for the past couple of months. Sorry about that.

Micah and I went on a road trip to Bloomington, Indiana.

This was the car rode home. And while it was an incredibly fun weekend, I was in need of Starbucks to make the trip home. I was runnin’ on empty.

When I got home, I found this gem while grocery shopping.

Hello, beautiful. Got plans this weekend?

Oh yes she does.

By way of making up my absence to you, I’m going to share this Ah-mazing bread recipe I made yesterday. Then, I want you to go ahead and start prepping it for dinner tomorrow night. You can thank me tomorrow.

I’ll be playing around with it even more. I’ve got ideas for adding flax seed, cheese, herbs and so much more! It’s that great of a bread. You can follow the link to the original recipe, where Janet shares her ideas and creations.

8625b7675af0fecd98d34a48683bbade

Crusty Bread
Adapted from Simply So Good

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon yeast
  • 1 1/2 cups water

How-to

  • In a large mixing bowl or stand mixer, mix together flour, salt and yeast.
  • Mix in water until shaggy mixture is formed.
  • Cover bowl with plastic wrap and set aside for 12-18 hours. (no need to grease bowl)
  • When ready, preheat oven to 450°F.
  • When preheated, place your cast iron pot (or simply just an oven safe pot) in the oven.
  • Dump dough onto heavily floured counter, cover with plastic wrap, and let it rest for 30 minutes.
  • Remove (extremely) hot pot from oven.
  • Place dough onto wax paper and drop it in the pot.
  • Cook, covered, for 30 minutes.
  • Remove lid and bake for an additional 15 minutes.
  • Remove from oven and place on a cooling rack to cool completely before slicing.
talk to me.

